To help speed the process of obtaining a marriage license you may download the Marriage License Application and bring the completed form to the Courthouse. This is not required but does help speed the process.
How to apply for a marriage license:
Couples may apply for a marriage license between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm Monday through Friday. Both parties must be present and have a photo ID. The processing of a marriage license takes 15-30 minutes. Please try to arrive at the Courthouse no later than 4:00 pm if possible, to allow adequate time.
The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $62.00. The fee must be paid in cash.
What information is needed:
A photo ID for both applicants is required. The court will need the applicant's address, age, place of birth, occupation, father's name and mother's maiden name, and the name of the person who is to solemnize the marriage.
If either applicant had prior marriages, the applicant must include the names of the parties to such marriages and the names of any minor children. If the marriage ended in divorce or dissolution, the applicant must submit a certified copy of the most recent divorce decree. Non-certified, emailed, faxed or photocopies of the divorce or dissolution information will not be accepted. If the prior spouse is deceased, the applicant must submit a certified copy of the death certificate.
At least one applicant must be a resident of Medina County. If both parties reside outside of the State of Ohio, then the marriage ceremony must take place in Medina County, Ohio.
Who can perform the ceremony:
A licensed minister of any religious society within the State of Ohio, the Judge of Wadsworth or Medina Municipal courts, or the Mayors of Medina County cities or villages. For a complete list visit Ohio Secretary of State website by clicking here.
Where and for how long is the license valid:
The license is valid for a ceremony anywhere in the State of Ohio. By law there is a five day waiting period. Typically, our Court waives that waiting period and issues the license at the time of application, however, there may be circumstances under which the Court may hold a hearing on the application. The license is valid for 60 days.
How to obtain a Certified copy of the marriage license record:
The Court keeps the license on record, you do not receive a copy of the license. To obtain a certified copy of the record there is a $3.00 fee. You may either come to the Court to request a copy or submit the request form with a $3.00 check and self addressed stamped envelope to: Medina County Probate Court, 93 Public Square, Room 104, Medina, OH 44256.
Males must be 18 years of age or older and females must be 16 years or older to be married.
Married persons may not be nearer of kin than second cousins.
No one can be married to two persons at the same time
If you are already registered to vote but have moved within Ohio and/or changed your name, you must update your voter registration information. Click here for details.
Judge Kevin W. Dunn